hideout

At Shimla, the first secret spot that draws me
outside is a stump and board bench on a high terrace
overlooking the lake and valley.
Before I sit down,
I must bang the board against a tree
to knock off all the ants.
Then I’m happy. With a stunted oak tree for shelter
and a never-ending view,
I am hidden.

No one knows where I am.
The nine-year old’s thrill
of the hideout under the hydrangea comes back:
My mother is calling me and I am not answering.

 

#KEEP_READING 🙂

LOVE ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

